American Chemical Society announces election results for 2021 officers and directors

31 Oct 2020
WASHINGTON, Oct. 30, 2020 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has announced the results of its national election. Society members elected the following officers and members of the Board of Directors for 2021:

Angela K. Wilson, Ph.D., associate dean for strategic initiatives in the College of Natural Sciences; director of the Center for Quantum Computing, Science and Engineering; and John A. Hannah distinguished professor of chemistry at Michigan State University, East Lansing

Board of Directors
Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D. (District III), global R&D operations leader at DuPont Transportation & Industrial, Wilmington, Delaware

Paul W. Jagodzinski, Ph.D. (District VI), professor of chemistry at Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff

Wayne E. Jones Jr., Ph.D. (director-at-large), provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of New Hampshire, Durham

Carolyn Ribes, Ph.D. (director-at-large), business analytical leader at Dow Chemical, Terneuzen, The Netherlands

These officers will join the following, who were previously elected by ACS members to serve terms in 2021:

H. N. Cheng, Ph.D., research chemist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, New Orleans

Immediate Past President
Luis Echegoyen, Ph.D., Robert A. Welch chair professor of chemistry at the University of Texas at El Paso

Board of Directors
John E. Adams, Ph.D. (District V), Curators’ Teaching Professor (emeritus) of chemistry at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Bryan Balazs, Ph.D. (director-at-large), Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (retired), Livermore, California

Christina C. Bodurow, Ph.D. (District II), vice president of strategy and operations in the Data Science, Statistics and Regulatory Division at IQVIA, Indianapolis

Thomas Connelly Jr., Ph.D., ACS CEO, Washington, D.C.

Lisa Houston (District IV), vice president at Petroleum Analyzer Co., Houston

Lee H. Latimer, Ph.D. (director-at-large), consultant in drug development at LHLatimer Consulting, Oakland, California

Katherine L. Lee, Ph.D. (District I), senior director and head of project planning and operations, Inflammation and Immunology Research Unit at Pfizer Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D. (director-at-large), assistant dean of graduate studies and research at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras

Dorothy J. Phillips, Ph.D. (director-at-large), Waters Corp. (retired), Milford, Massachusetts

Other Society officers include:
Flint Lewis, ACS secretary and general counsel, Washington, D.C.

Al Horvath, ACS treasurer and chief financial officer, Washington, D.C.
More Information


news More

Contact Now
Have a question or feedback, let us know!

Please enter the string as shown above: